Modeling e-Government processes with UMM

Birgit Hofreiter
Christian Huemer
Philipp Liegl
Robert Mosser
Journal article
Informatica - An International Journal of Computing and Informatics, Ljubljana-ISSN: 1854-3871
407 - 417
The United Nation´s Center for Trade Facilitation and Electronic Business (UN/CEFACT) is a standardization<br> body known for its work on UN/EDIFACT and ebXML. One of its most recent developments is<br> UN/CEFACT´s Modeling Methodology (UMM). The UMM standard is used to model inter-organizational<br> business processes in the B2B domain. With the increasing availability of electronic governmental services<br> over networks, the frontier between B2B and B2G/G2G disappears. Today one expects a governmental<br> institution to react like any other business partner. Therefore also governments now face the interoperability<br> and compatibility issues as regular businesses do. In order to allow two governmental institutions to<br> collaborate, a methodology uniquely depicting the inter-organizational process from a global perspective<br> is needed. In this paper we propose to use UN/CEFACT´s Modeling Methodology in the eGovernment<br> domain. UMM allows the definition of a global choreography which is then being used to derive local orchestrations<br> for each business partner. Such orchestrations can then be used by enterprise applications in a<br> service oriented context. As an example, a real-world scenario from the waste transport domain within the<br> European Union will be shown. Furthermore the possible integration in the context of the We-Go project<br> [3] is examined.
TU Focus: 
Computational Science and Engineering

B. Hofreiter, C. Huemer, P. Liegl, R. Mosser, R. Schuster, M. Zapletal:
"Modeling e-Government processes with UMM";
Informatica - An International Journal of Computing and Informatics, Ljubljana (2007), ISSN: 1854-3871; S. 407 - 417.

Zusätzliche Informationen

Last changed: 
06.03.2008 14:49:47
TU Id: 
Department Focus: 
Business Informatics
Abstract German: 
Author List: 
B. Hofreiter, C. Huemer, P. Liegl, R. Mosser, R. Schuster, M. Zapletal